Forum

9 posts

Making money from Font creations

Jul 27, 2016 at 18:20

Hello,

I'm new to the typography genre. I was wondering if people on here make money from submitting fonts or is it only from donations? How does it all work and are they multiple ways to earn money?

Jul 28, 2016 at 03:16

IMO if your intention is to make money, sell your fonts. There are several sites where you can sell your fonts. CreativeMarket is popular nowadays and has a very lax policy when it comes to things for sale - no evaluation process at all.

If you are going to post a font here at Dafont, do not raise your expectations too high or you will be very disappointed. However, based on experience, more donations will come your way through Dafont than any other free font sites. GoogleFonts was not considered because it is not an open font archive.

What kind of fonts, get the most donations? Look at the fonts that are heavily downloaded and those fonts are likely the ones that get the most donations/money here. Unfortunately, mine are not among those fonts.

Jul 28, 2016 at 13:34

I get donations for my fonts now an then, it's really not much, but considered that I made the fonts just for fun it's quite nice
I also started a shop on CreativeMarket recently to sell fonts (actually there IS an evaluation process, you have to apply for opening a shop. However, after that you can upload whatever you want, that's correct), and I'm curious how this will develop

Jul 28, 2016 at 17:42

toto@k22 said  
IMO if your intention is to make money, sell your fonts. There are several sites where you can sell your fonts. CreativeMarket is popular nowadays and has a very lax policy when it comes to things for sale - no evaluation process at all.