Pub de viper1978

Forum

3 posts

Posts par ianquiksilver

Thanks for the replies! =)
To claude, what if its the case of not matching the exact shape of the original. My aim is not to manage to somehow just make a copy. My question is, in making a new font, for myself (one I would use in a graphic composition as opposed to a font to cash in on) basing myself on a font that I like, how different must the new shapes/letters be to avoid problems? For example, imagine having a square shaped "E" letter and decide to make one of the straight lines/sides slightly curved, is that "enough" a change? Because at some point theres going to be so many "copyrighted" fonts that it will be impossible to come up with a new one with isnt some kind of variation thereof.
Im guessing what Im asking is, how different does the new set of letters have to be before it can be "called" a new font, ie, free of copyright hassle from the inspiring font.

Hello all! I'm a graphic artist to be and I was hoping to find out as much as possible on the subject of Copyrights in the context of graphic design (excluding photography, I leave that for later) both generally and also more specifically about Fonts. I was hoping someone could provide a good source/website, the more official and the clearer it is, the better -->> Regarding EU laws <<--