Forum

52 posts

Tops/bottoms of fonts being cut off. How can I correct this?

Mar 12, 2011 at 23:22

Hello, I am having a challenge. I downloaded a lovely font with lots of extra scrolly bits. The problem is that anywhere they extend above/below the actual letters they are being cut off. Does anyone know how I can correct for this? I wrote the author but did not receive a response.

Thanks!

Mar 13, 2011 at 08:19

Ascenders and decenders are not set correctly.

Edited on Mar 13, 2011 at 08:19 by koeiekat

Mar 13, 2011 at 17:42

I see. I am very new to this so please pardon my ignorance here. Is that something I can adjust, or was it something the author didn't format correctly?

Thank you so much!

Mar 13, 2011 at 17:51

Ok, I did a little research. It looks like there is nothing I can do to correct for this if the author hasn't got the settings right. That is such a bummer! :^(

Mar 13, 2011 at 18:22

With any font editor you can correct this in the metrics dialog box.

Mar 13, 2011 at 20:47

Slouis > Which fonts did you see that are having that problem? You can feel free to email me a copy of them and I'll fix the ascender/descender issues as soon as I get a chance.

Mar 13, 2011 at 20:55

@Jaynz
slouis has been carefully hiding this info. Had it not, the problem would have been solved long ago. So why bother?

Mar 13, 2011 at 23:55

Jaynz said  
Slouis > Which fonts did you see that are having that problem? You can feel free to email me a copy of them and I'll fix the ascender/descender issues as soon as I get a chance.

It is the "Inked God" font, here on the site, as well as others. I emailed the author himself, but got no response. I would be grateful if you could correct this font for me. Thank you!

Mar 13, 2011 at 23:57

koeiekat said  
@Jaynz
slouis has been carefully hiding this info. Had it not, the problem would have been solved long ago. So why bother?

Wow... That's kind of harsh.

Mar 14, 2011 at 03:00

... and kind of true ...