Ad by didjadid

Forum

 

22 posts

Comment créer une police sur OS X Mountain Lion ? | How to make a font on OS X Mountain Lion ?

 1 

Jun 24, 2013 at 23:50

Bonjour.

Je suis graphiste amateur et je souhaiterais me lancer dans la création de polices. Étant nouveau et très désinformé, je m'en remets donc à vous pour me cultiver. J'ai donc deux questions :

1. Quelle est la différence entre une police et une typographie ?
2. Comment en créer une sur OS X Mountain Lion ?

Merci.

_

Hi.

I'm amateur designer and I'd like to start some font creation. Being new and very uninformed, I'm coming to you to get a culture. And so I have two questions :

1. What's the difference between a font and a typeface ?
2. How could I create one on OS X Mountain Lion ?

Thanks.


Jun 25, 2013 at 09:08

1. A type is a letter form, which can - not must - have more variations like bold, thin, oblique etc which variations are called faces. A typeface is a face of a type. A font indicates the size of a typeface when printed, expressed in points. A font thus is a size of a face of a type.
Before digital type all different sizes were cut small differences to make a particular size most fit for printing. With the introduction of digital type these differences disappeared and one basic form is used for all sizes. In America where - at the time - there was no tradition on typography the word font became a substitute for type. With the introduction of digital type one ignorant code writer started to use the word font for letter shape and made the confusion complete.
2. For that you need software that can convert either vector based shapes or bitmap images into the code that creates a digital type format as otf, ttf or, if one should still wants to do that, Type1 format.
See Tools at the top of the page.


Jun 25, 2013 at 09:33

Pour la question 1, il existe un outil très pratique appelé le dictionnaire qui peut être d'un grand secour pour lever ce genre d'incertitudes :